Caitlin Clark Had the Best Reaction to Making WNBA History in the Latest Indiana Fever Game

X content

This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.

Caitlin Clark has been a record-breaker prior to her first season with the WNBA, having earned the number one spot in this year’s drafter after becoming the the NCAA’s top-scorer in all of college basketball. However, her transition to the WNBA has not been as smooth as some expected. The Fever started the season with a string of losses, including three against the New York Liberty. This game marks the Fever’s eighth win of the season out of 22 games.

The recent decision to leave Clark off his year’s Olympic roster sparked a massive debate amongst WNBA viewers, though her fanbase will get to see Clark face off against Team USA in this year’s WNBA All-Star Game. Clark will be joined on Team WNBA by fellow record-breaking rookie Angel Reese of the Chicago Sky, as well as her own Fever teammates Aliyah Boston and Kelsey Mitchell. You can see the rest of the lineup here.

Team WNBA is partially determined by fan-votes (though they’re not the only deciding factor) and Clark earned the most of any player with 700,735 votes. Boston came in second with 618,680 votes while Reese, who is currently leading the league in double-doubles, earned 381,518 votes.

“I don’t think I’ve ever been her teammate before, even with USA Basketball or anything like that,” Clark said of her upcoming team-up with Reese. “I know people are going to be really excited about it, but I hope it doesn’t take away from everybody else. This is a huge accomplishment for everybody on Team USA and everybody on Team WNBA. They all deserve the same praise.”

The All-Star team will play Team USA on July 20 in Phoenix, Arizona. Team USA, of course, is stacked with renowned vets, including A’Ja Wilson, Diana Taurasi, Brittney Griner, and NY Liberty players Sabrina Ionescu and Breanna Stewart. While the game is already sold out, you can watch it all go down on ABC at 8:30 PM EST.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top